RSS

Christmas #1, Dinner 3: Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits

15 Mar

I find very few things as comforting and cozy as biscuits – hot, fresh biscuits. Something about the smell of biscuits right out of the oven, and the sight of the steam escaping off their tender little tops just warms the cockles of my heart. So, of course, I had to include some sort of biscuit in Christmas #1 Dinner. Previously, I had made cream cheese and chive biscuits which are phenomenal and I will post about them the moment I make them again and remember to take a picture. However, I wanted to try something new. I went to my extensive food blog recipe archive and found this recipe from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen. This lady has some really great recipes and really great ideas. Do take the time to check out her site.

These little buggers are addictive!

Anyway, these biscuits were tender and tasty! I am a sucker for most anything with corn meal or polenta in it. As for changes, I added more cheddar and parmesan (obviously) than the original recipe called for. I also added more garlic. I would like to take a moment and discuss garlic usage. I have recently discovered jarred, crushed garlic. I adore this stuff! It has a smoother garlic taste than the commonly used pre-minced garlic, which I often find too acrid. Furthermore, I find it blends better into other ingredients. Aside from those changes, though, I stay pretty true to the original recipe. Something I would like to try in the future is adding some chopped, fresh dill. I think it would be a winning combination with a sharp cheddar. If you happen to try that before I get to it, please let me know how it turns out!

Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits
Adapted from Sweat Pea’s Kitchen

Ingredients:
1 ¾ cups all-purpose flour
¾ cup cornmeal
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
½ stick (¼ cup) cold unsalted butter, cut into ½-inch cubes
8 ounces extra-sharp Cheddar, coarsely grated
¼ cup finely grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
3 scallions, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 1/3 cups well-shaken buttermilk

Directions:

1. Place the oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 450°F. Line 1 large baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, add flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add the butter and toss with a fork to coat with the flour mixture. Mix on medium-low speed until the texture resembles coarse cornmeal, with the butter pieces no larger than small peas. Stir in cheeses, scallions and garlic. Hand stir the buttermilk into the mixture until just combined.

3. Drop dough in 12 equal mounds about 2 inches apart on baking sheet. Bake until golden brown, 13-15 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and cool about 10 minutes before serving.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 15, 2012 in Biscuits

 

One response to “Christmas #1, Dinner 3: Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits

  1. Viski

    March 15, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    This sounds EPIC. I will be making this soon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

