RSS

Christmas #1, Dinner Part 2: Dijon Braised Brussels Sprouts

12 Mar

I hate Brussels Sprouts! And by hate I mean as a child I would have rather gauged my eye out with a spoon than eat Brussels Sprouts. I remember my mother made them once in the hopes of getting my brother and me to eat more veggies. I took one bite and immediately spit it out and washed my mouth out with milk. Though honestly, what kind of mother tries to entice her children to eat more veggies with Brussels Sprouts? That is some backwards thinking if you ask me. Anyway, this Christmas #1 dinner started out with a challenge: make good, moist meatloaf. So, I figured why not take this challenge a step further and try to make Brussels Sprouts not just tolerable but actually tasty.

Horrible picture, I know! We stopped mid-way through eating and yelled, "We forgot to take pictures!" However, you will get the biscuit (there on the left) recipe next.

I found this recipe on Smitten Kitchen – possibly one of the greatest food blogs out there. If you have not been, go now! I made very few changes to this recipe. I used a Dijon mustard with the little mustard seeds in it rather than smooth; I like those little seeds. I added more mustard than the recipe called for as well. I went with the higher amount of shallots, mostly because I have been obsessed with shallots recently. It takes some time and patience to clean, chop, and brown those little buggers, but the effort was well worth it, and the result was a RIDICULOUS success. I loved them! Aaron loved them! We are actually bringing them into a more regular meal rotation rather than just special occasions.

Dijon-Braised Brussels Sprouts
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen
Serves 4 as a side

Ingredients
1 lbs Brussels Sprouts
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt – to taste
Pepper – to taste
½ cup dry white wine
1 cup chicken brother (or veggie)
3 shallots, peeled and thinly sliced
2 tablespoons heavy cream
2 tablespoons Dijon Mustard (I used seeded)
2 tablespoons of flat leaf parsley to put on top

Directions

1. Trim sprouts and halve lengthwise.

2. In a large, heavy 12-inch skillet heat butter and oil over moderate heat. Arrange halved sprouts in skillet, cut sides down, in one layer. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, to taste. Cook sprouts, without turning until undersides are golden brown, about 5 minutes.

3. Add the shallots, wine and stock and bring to a simmer.

4. When simmering, reduce the heat to medium-low (for a gentle simmer), cover the pot with a lid (foil works too, if your skillet lacks a lid) and cook the sprouts until they are tender can be pierced easily with the tip of a paring knife, about 15 to 20 minutes.

5. Remove the lid, and scoop out sprouts. Add cream and simmer for two to three minutes, until slightly thickened. Whisk in mustard. Taste for seasoning, and adjust as necessary with more salt, pepper or Dijon. Pour sauce over sprouts, sprinkle with parsley, and serve immediately.

Oh so om nom!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 12, 2012 in Side Dish, Vegetarian

 

Leave a Reply

 
