RSS

Sweet, Moist Cornbread

22 Mar

I have started playing rugby. I have neither the time nor energy for this, but what the hell; I love sports and challenges. And honestly, it is a hell of a lot of fun to tackle people. So far rugby has provided only two setbacks: 1) I am constantly covered in large, ugly bruises and 2) I have very little time to cook and bake. I wear #1 with pride and whenever someone asks what happened to me I relish in responding with one word, “Rugby”. However, #2 has proven to be difficult to swallow. I really do miss trying out more new recipes. Even worse, it means that my blogging fodder has taken a hit, so I have to rely on so oldies I have been holding on to for a while. Please bear with me the next two months until the Spring season is over! Now for today’s actual recipe…

You will never even want to try another cornbread

Cornbread is kind of my thing. I am very proud of my cornbread because it is not at all dry; in fact it is incredibly moist. It also has this very pleasant sweetness. When I look back on it though, I was never originally proud of my cornbread, I knew I liked it better than others, but I just thought it was my own particular taste. I didn’t start developing my cornbread hubris until other people told me I should. For example, a while back a couple of our friends held a football watching party that would feature some homemade chili. I told the hosts I would bring brownies and cornbread. They did not seem all that enthused at the thought of cornbread, but I thought, “Hey, you are serving chili, there kind of has to be cornbread, right?”

I made the cornbread and took it to the party. The hosts reluctantly took a piece of cornbread each, likely just to humor me. We sat down and started to watch the game which was almost immediately interrupted by, “Dear god, that is f*cking amazing cornbread!” The hosts returned for seconds and told me that I had forever changed their minds about cornbread. They learned that it doesn’t have to be dry and bland. So, with that, I present to you a Cara-Original.

Cornbread

Ingredients
1 ½ cups flour
2/3 cup + 2 tablespoons sugar
½ cup cornmeal
1 tablespoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
1 ¼ cups milk
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/3 cup oil
3 tablespoons butter, melted

Directions

1. Pre-heat oven to 350°. Prepare a 9inch round baking pan by coating it in cooking spray or butter. OR place    cupcake liners in a cupcake pan.

2. Combine flour, sugar, cornmeal, baking powder and salt in a bowl and whisk together.

3. Combine milk, eggs, oil and melted butter.

4. Pour batter into prepared pan.

5. FOR ROUND BAKING DISH: bake for 30-35 minutes. FOR CUPCAKE PAN: bake 18-20 minutes.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 22, 2012 in Bread, Muffins

 

One response to “Sweet, Moist Cornbread

  1. S williams

    February 24, 2013 at 9:51 am

    Cornbread was great!

     

Leave a Reply

 
