RSS

Compass Cooking Part III: Chex Mix

19 Nov

For this event I wanted some nice finger foods and something people could just grab a handful of and munch on at their leisure. I thought of doing some sort of trail mix, but then I worried about nut allergies. I thought chips were too bland and just over done. Then I thought of something I had been craving a couple months ago…homemade Chex Mix.

The goodies right before their second stir

Each and every Christmas at my home growing up meant one thing without fail; my mother would make a great big double batch of Chex Mix using this recipe out of an ancient pamphlet like cookbook put out by the Chex Cereal Company. I am now the owner of this pamphlet that is barely holding together at this point and is coated in Chex Mix sauce splatter. The smell of cooking Chex Mix would always permeate our house around mid-December and it would always make my mouth water, and still does. I have fond memories of sitting in the living room with a fire in the fireplace, the 007 Days of Christmas on in the background and happily munching away on Chex Mix with my brother as we discussed our Christmas gift prospects. Such wonderful, simple times!

My mom had made her own changes the to recipe such as adding mini pretzel sticks and Cheerios to the mix, but the seasoning sauce always remained the same.  In my opinion the Cheerios are the best part because they soak up that sauce extremely well and then melt in your mouth leaving you with a savory delight. I thought how nice it would be to share a family food associated with such warm childhood memories with other people. I figured they would be able to taste the love. I too changed the recipe slightly. I removed the peanuts so I didn’t have to worry about peanut allergies. Also, I used the knotted pretzels rather than the sticks. I have stabbed the roof of my mouth with those damn mini pretzel sticks more times than I care to remember and I am sure that is the last thing and Improv Comedian would like to have happen right before they go on stage. Finally, I made mine a bit more saucy. This too was a big hit!

Chex Mix

Adapted from the ancient Chex Company Party Mix Recipe (no link it is so very old). However, this is now being called the Original Chex Party Mix. I beg to differ!

Ingredients
9 tablespoons of salted butter
1 ½ teaspoons seasoned salt
2 tablespoons Worcestershire Sauce
2 cups Corn Chex
2 cups Wheat Chex
2 cups Rice Chex
2 cups Cheerios
2 cups Pretzels

Directions
1. Preheat the oven to 250°
2. Combine the cereals and pretzels in a LARGE mixing bowl. If you do not have a large enough bowl to safely stir this large bulk, you will have to do it in smaller batches.
3. Combine the butter, seasoned salt and Worcestershire Sauce in a small saucepan over low heat until butter has melted. Stir to combine ingredients.
4. Pour the sauce mixture over the cereal mix and gently stir to evenly distribute sauce and coat all the cereal.
5. Pour the mix evenly onto two cookie sheets.
6. Bake for 45 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes.
7. Once baked, dump onto paper towels to dry.

The paper towel drying process

Try to stop at just one handful!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
